Luis Suarez has been named as the Footballer of the Year by the football writers Association, as the striker will be adding more glory to his individual accolades. He has already won the PFA player of the year by beating the likes of Eden Hazard and Yaya Touré. He is on course to helping Liverpool to win the first league title in 24 years, but he has been stating constantly that he will be putting team performance ahead of personal motivation. Suarez has already won league titles before his career, but to win it with Liverpool will be extremely special.

The turnaround comes within months of Suarez receiving a 10 match suspension from the FA for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic when the two sides met each of last season. It seems that he has firmly put this incident in the back of his mind. (more…)